While your email marketing targets might differ from those of another establishment, knowing how effective and efficient your email campaigns are is something every establishment should be familiar with — irrespective of what sector they are in. To assist establishments in getting an understanding of how their email campaigns operate, email marketing services such as Shiftmail provide analytics tools that could help you monitor your most successful email campaigns or reevaluate your less popular ones.
Whether your target is to gain fresh subscribers or improve your open rates, you can employ the analytics tools to determine how you can achieve your target. Here is what you can gain from the analytics tools if you’re not already taking advantage of it.
One of the several benefits of employing the analytics reports with an email marketing service is that it provides you with a better understanding of your audience and what catches their interest. Having the knowledge about where most of your subscribers are situated, for instance, can let you tailor your content towards particular cities or regions, which can be particularly useful if your service or product is something seasonal.
Besides regular demographics, analytics can also reveal to you the links your customers click on in the newsletter you’ve sent to them, which can assist you to tailor your content to the interests of your audience.
Before you send the next email, give yourself a couple of minutes and then ask yourself the goal behind your email marketing. Is it to generate more leads? Grow subscriber database, convert active leads into clients? Whatever your goals are, the next step you need to do is think about the metrics you will need to track so that you get to determine how you are progressing towards your goal.
Below are the email metrics that every marketer must have through their email report.
This is the percentage showing the email recipients that have clicked on the links contained in the email given to them. The way to calculate this is dividing the unique or total clicks by the number of emails delivered. The result is then multiplied by 100. For example, you’ve got a total 500 clicks and delivered emails are 10,000:
(500 / 10,000) x 100 = 5%
This is the likely primary answer that you will get when you ask from the email marketer the kind of metrics that they track. This is what they refer to as the day-to-day metric in email marketing, since it lets you calculate the performance easily of every individual email that you have sent. From there, you get to track how the CTR changes from time to time.
The Conversion Rate is the percentage of the link clicked by the email recipients inside the email and has also completed its desired action, like purchasing a product or filling out the lead generation form. To calculate for the Conversion Rate, you take the number of users that have completed its desired action, then divide this by the total number of emails delivered. The result is then multiplied by 100 and you get the Conversion Rate. For example, you got 400 people that has finished the desired action and a total of 10,000 email delivered:
(400 / 10,000) x 100 = 4%
After the recipient of the email has clicked through the email you’ve sent, your next goal is getting them to convert the offer you’ve made. This means that you take action on the email that has requested them to take. If you are sending an email to give your audience a chance to download, like a free ebook, you would consider them to be a conversion if they actually do so.
The Bounce Rate refers to the percentage of the total emails that was sent which could not have been successfully sent into the inbox of the recipient. To calculate this, you get the total bounced emails and divide this by the emails you have sent. Result is then multiplied by 100. For example, there are 75 bounced emails and you sent a total of 10,00 emails:
(75 / 10,000) x 100 = 0.75%
These are just 3 of the top metrics that an email marketer must closely monitor with if they want to have a successful email marketing.